I need your help on this one

This correspondence and script (rough draft) will be delivered to the Secretary General of the United Nations. They have opened a channel of discussion to “pitch” an idea to help the world. I want your opinions and /or suggestions before I finish and submit it.

Excuse me Mr. Secretary General,

All life is finite. You and I are finite. That’s what makes our lives so precious.

Purpose is infinite. That’s why when it’s found, it can seem more precious than life.

I have found my life’s purpose and I want to share it with you and your formidable influence.

The introduction of a complex issue often results in misunderstanding which squanders the attention of its ultimate importance.  In the acknowledgement of that illustrative hurdle, I have decided to illustrate my purpose in a minimal way. Hopefully embracing traces of the ancient art of words, and the power each one can present.

This is an issue of global human importance.

The purpose I write about has evolved into a human effort called “The Finding Finite Project” and its proposed solutions are focused on a systemic manmade dysfunction that produces global ramifications.

THERE IS A PICTURE INSERTED HERE, BUT WAS NONTRANSFERABLE. Its a circular text graph that follows around a picture of the earth. The words that surround the earth are connected by arrows leading back to the first word: Petroleum > Energy > Food > Water > Population > Pollution > Attention > 

 

Most of us live within minds unable to reason with the finite reality of our own lifespan, which creates a living focus measured in short periods of time, often forgetting entirely about the future beyond and disconnecting its valuable purpose. This allows us the destructive and wasteful practices of consumption without hunger and development without need, want becomes our goal, function turns to fashion, and results become unimportant.

In the decade that spanned 1975-to-1985 the United States and much of the world found an opportunity to develop sustainable solutions, replacing a known finite energy resource with types that could sustain or energy needs and our futures stability. This history was written much like a cautionary fable, with greed being the fuel that burned through our natural resources and its smoke strangling individual responsibility and clouding the collective obligations of a civilization that is interdependent.

I will not identify blame; instead I will understand our situation and offer the simple solutions of individual change that grows into a sustainable group success.  Death is where I found the finite nature of my own life; Petroleum is where I found the finite manmade systems of our current civilization.

Logistics is the word I choose to illustrate the projects importance. I see the United Nations as an inspirational and triumphant illustration of human effort and capability. We must preemptively simplify our living systems, while individual communities still have the energy resources to do so. If we choose to focus on “business as usual”, all of us, even a collective as significant as yours, will experience an increasing level of logistical ineffectiveness, exponentially growing to a situational gravity that could easily push us back to a modern stone age.

The Finding Finite Project will use any and all human resources it can find to initiate a living community plan to establish a national network of self-sustainable neighborhood villages. Using the existing infrastructure of urban and suburban dwellings, we will assist in the establishment of core groups that will evolve their current individualized communities into village oriented collectives, which not only address local issues of sustainability, but become a cohesive collection of neighboring dwellings to support the easement of the coming challenges of energy resource descent.

This is not meant to stir some renewable energy solution, because unless this “miracle” comes with no cost and free installation into existing transportation vehicles, the transitional problem still takes place. We are in a massive overshoot, and although I want us to plan for a renewable future, the lack of attention to our actual growing predicament shadows any other resolution.

2 thoughts on “I need your help on this one

  1. I do not agree that the human being is finite. We are an energy field coded in such a way as to give us form and purpose. As such energy never dies, it just takes on another form. Our “death” is really a transformation phase where we take on another form and choose a.configuration that fits with our new chosen purpose in life . While we seldom remember our last life form and events that took place in it, more information on the subject is revealing exceptions to this particularly among the very young.

    • Dear Mary Rose,
      I appreciate your collaborative comment and respect your belief. I also believe that the “energy” that supports our soul, spirit, and gathered intelligence is infinite, and further passes on into other places, people, things, and spaces. That’s scientific, as well as my chosen spiritual understanding.
      Words are sometimes crude vehicles for thought, so in hopes to better articulate my point I will try to broaden the words meaning as I understand it. This life, this body, this existence that we know, has an end just like the breath exhaled to speak your beliefs, it will have to end and transition into the inhalation that supports your body. That is what I consider to be the Human “Being” that is Chris. To say things don’t end is to say they don’t begin. My life as me, in this reality, in this vehicle is finite.
      The reason for using the word finite was to deliver the message of value, of opportunity, of present purpose. I felt the title of “Finding Finite” was important in many ways, but to be specific to your comment, it represents the enlightenment that is received when we each find the value in every moment of this life that we know – precious is the “time” that it gives us – and the release from “fears importance” – through the realization that our time as “us” is “Finite”. It also seems to provide desire to find purpose, and the passion to fulfill it.
      It seems to carry that message in a wide array of contexts.
      Sometimes I choose words as keys to open the doors to your own answers, not always to address facts.
      I appreciate your willingness to engage in debate as well as the deliverance of your own message.
      I hope I have illustrated well enough to align our common goals of positive change.
      Chris
      .

Leave a comment